Gort Community College were delighted to welcome members of both the All-Ireland senior and minor wining hurling teams to the school on Wednesday 26th September. The community centre was resplendent in the famous colours of both Galway and Gort CS as the entire school gathered to celebrate the remarkable achievements of past and present students.

Speaking on behalf of the entire school body, newly appointed principal Brian Crossan noted how his predecessor, Mr Denis Corry of Tulla, had received the victorious Clare hurling team and the Liam MacCarthy trophy into the school in his first year as principal in 1995. Mr Crossan said it was fitting that in his first year as principal he had the opportunity to welcome the storied trophy, draped in the marron and white of Galway, to Gort Community College for the first time.

The school is extremely proud of the fact that they had the highest representation of any Galway school on the senior panel with nine players, six taking to the field on the first Sunday in September. The school gathered together and saluted the achievements of Aidan Harte, Jack Grealish, Greg and Gavin Lally (Gort); Adrian Tuohey (Beagh); Conor Cooney (St Thomas’); Colm Callanan and Conor Whelan (Kinvara). Ardrahan’s Johnny Glynn was unable to make it but did send his apologies from America. All players are Connaught medal holders with the school.

Mr Crossan proceeded to highlight the considerable contribution made by the hurling coaches in the school who helped develop the players that ultimately brought both the Liam McCarthy and the Irish Press Cup back together to Galway for the first time.

Mr Pat Conole (Kinvara), Mr Eoghan Hanley (Wolfe Tones), Mr Michael Healy (Castlegar), Mr Seán Hehir (Kilmaley), Mr Eoin Marren (Newmarket-on Fergus) and Mr David Moloney (Tulla) were warmly welcomed on stage alongside their past pupils and players.

Current senior goalkeeper Colm Callanan thanked the staff and students for their support and reiterated the importance of school hurling in the overall development of those present on stage.

Minor Victory –

There was further cause to celebrate as the Irish Press Cup was brought into the school by current 5th year student Darach Fahy (Ardrahan) who marshalled the goals in this year’s championship. Indeed, Darach was recently selected on the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards Hurling Team of the Year for 2017. Darach was accompanied to the stage by Enda Fahey and Enda Egan (Michael Cusacks), Evan Hunt (Beagh), and minor selector John Commins (Gort). Mr Commins, who played in goals for the first Galway team to win the minor championship itself in 1983, alongside current deputy principal Martin Killeen, spoke at length about the commitment demonstrated by these Gort students in helping secure All-Ireland glory for Galway.

Now entering its twenty-third year, Gort Community College possesses a strong tradition in both hurling and camogie, a tradition which Mr Crossan noted will continue to play a significant role in developing future Galway players.

Gort Community School, the leading senior championship title winners in Connaught, are proud of our association with Galway GAA and congratulate all the senior and minor players on their success this year